Awards FAQs

Awards FAQs

What types of hospitals are allowed to participate?
All hospitals located in Asia Pacific region can participate. Small and big hospitals have equal chances of winning because the awards are for the success of projects, programs or services that were implemented during the award period and not for overall excellence of the hospital. In this sense public and private hospitals also have equal chances of winning.

Here’s the list of the eligible countries.

What types of projects/programmes can be submitted?
Any project that fits the 7 categories can be submitted. Entries must be for projects, programs, or services that were implemented or significantly enhanced from January 2019 to April 2020. In this sense, the awards are for the introduction of new projects, or for the improvements in 2018/2019 of existing programs and systems. In general, the judges favour new projects than enhancements.

In all cases, there should be objective, quantifiable, and verifiable measurements as to the effectiveness of the project.

Can one project or programme be entered in more than one category?
Yes, this can be done if it applies to more than one category.

Can a project submitted previously that won, but is still being implemented, be entered again?
No, a project that previously won (gold award) cannot be entered again. However, a project that won a runner-up/excellence award can be entered again as long as the project is significantly enhanced in the period specified in the awards literature and there is proof of it being so. You have to demonstrate conclusively that there was significant enhancement.

Can a project submitted previously that did not win, but is still being implemented or enhanced, be entered again?
Yes, as long as the project was significantly enhanced in the period specified in the awards literature and there is proof of it being so.  As above, YOU need to demonstrate the enhancements.

How can I submit our entries?
Submission will be done via an online form. This is also connected to the payment of the entries. Click here to find out more about how to enter.

Do we need to create an account for online submission?
Yes, you will need to create an account via this submission link. You can also use the same account for all the submissions in your hospital. Entries can be submitted on different dates. But if you have already created an account, you can use the same username and password to log-in.

What and how many supporting materials can be submitted?
All entries can be accompanied by up to five attached documentation to support your entry such as the following. Attached files must be no larger than 2MB each. Documents must be in .pdf, .doc (word) and .PPT format, images must be in .jpg format. No exceptions sorry. No video can be attached.
  • Press reports
  • Awards won
  • Commendations received
  • Comments and testimonials from stakeholders
  • Measurable results achieved
Anything to convince the judges that your entry meets the criteria best. Please note that supporting materials MUST be in English or, if they are in another language, a certified translation must be provided.

What is the CEO Certification?
The CEO needs to sign a certification of authenticity for the entries. This form is included in the 5 allowed supporting materials. Click HERE to download the template of the form.

When is the deadline for submission of entries?
Deadline for submission of entries is on Thursday, 30 April 2020. And as a general rule, and except in special exigencies, we do not and have not in 18 years extended the deadlines.

Is there a fee for entering?
Yes. There is an entry fee of 100 USD for each entry. However, hospitals can get the following:
  • TWO FREE ENTRIES for every delegate they send – provided the delegate is registered and paid prior to or at the same time as the award is entered. Since many hospitals send three to five delegates, and likewise enter in a few categories, they will not need to pay anything extra.
  • TWO FREE ENTRIES valid per hospital if you submit on or before 31 March 2020.
  • ONE FREE ENTRY for confirmed speakers presenting at the conference.

Who are the judges? How will they judge? Or how do they pick the winners and excellence awardees?
HMA partners and specially selected experts are formed into seven (7) judging sub-committees, one for every award category. A chairperson is appointed for each team. These judging teams review the entries submitted to them, and make final recommendations to the conference advisory committee.

The Boards of Judges consists of representatives from hospital associations, selected speakers, members of the Advisory Board, and healthcare leaders in the region. The selections of the judging teams are then compiled by the Secretariat and approved by the chairman of the awards.

The successful hospitals are those who in the OPINION of the judges’ best fit the category criteria. There is usually one winner and one to three excellence awardee. Note that if there are no exceptional projects submitted in a category, the Board of Judges is not committed to giving an award.

When is the announcement of results?
You will be notified through email on the week of 1 June 2020. And finalists will also be posted on this website.

How are winners announced? Or is there an awards night?
The award presentation ceremony will take place during the Gala Dinner and Awards Night of the 19th annual Hospital Management Asia (HMA) 2020 on 8 December 2020 in Bali, Indonesia. To best showcase your team, we are encouraging the attendees to wear your national costume. A special prize will be given to the best dressed attendee.